A notary public is an official of the state who witnesses the signing of important documents and verifies the identity of the signer(s). You can become a notary in Florida by following these steps.
Checkout this video:
A notary public is an official of the state government appointed by the governor to witness the signing of certain documents and administer oaths. In Florida, the Division of Corporations is responsible for appointing and commissioning notaries public. The requirements to become a notary in Florida are:
-Be at least 18 years old
-Be a resident of Florida or have a regular place of employment or practice in Florida
-Have no convictions for felonies or crimes involving dishonesty, deceit, fraud or moral turpitude
-Complete a three-hour educational course approved by the Department of State
-Submit an application to the Division of Corporations including a certificate of completion for the educational course, fingerprint card, and filing fee
What is a notary?
A notary is a person who is authorized by the state to witness the signing of legal documents and administer oaths. Notaries are sometimes also referred to as notary publics. In order to become a notary, you must first apply with the state and then pass a written exam. Once you are a notary, you will be required to complete yearly continuing education in order to maintain your status.
Notaries are impartial witnesses to the signing of important documents. They make sure that the people who are signing the documents are who they say they are, that they understand what they are signing and that they are doing so willingly. Notaries can also administer oaths, which means that they can swear people in for testimony or other purposes. In order to become a notary, you must follow these steps.
The requirements to become a notary in Florida
Be a resident of Florida, or employed in Florida as a full-time employee;
Be at least 18 years old;
Complete a three-hour course of study approved by the Department of State; and
Pass an examination administered by a company authorized by the Department of State.
After you have completed these steps, you must submit an application to the Department of State with the following items:
A completed Notary Public Information Form DS-DE 2;
An original Certificate of Completion for the required course of study; and
The $42.00 filing fee.
How to become a notary in Florida
In Florida, any person aged 18 or over can become a notary public. There are a few other requirements:
-You must be a resident of Florida
-You must have no felony convictions
-You must complete a three-hour course on Florida notary law
Once you have met all the requirements, you can apply to be a notary public by filling out an application form and paying a fee of $42.50. Once your application has been approved, you will be issued anotary commission by the Governor of Florida. This allows you to officially act as a notary public in the state of Florida.
The duties of a notary
A notary is a person who is authorized by the state to witness the signing of certain documents and to administer oaths. Notaries are sometimes referred to as “notaries public.” The duties of a notary are governed by state law.
In Florida, the duties of a notary are set forth in Chapter 117 of the Florida Statutes. A notary must:
-Be at least 18 years of age;
-Be a resident of Florida, or if the notary is employed full-time by a federal, state, county, or municipal government entity located in Florida;
-Be able to read and write English;
-Not have been convicted of a felony;
-Not have had his or her notary commission revoked within the past five years; and
-Have completed a course of study as prescribed by the Department of State.
Notary fees in Florida are regulated by statute. The maximum fee a notary public can charge for notarizing a document is $10, regardless of the number of pages or signatures.
A notary public cannot charge any extra fees for travel within the same county, provided that the notary public does not leave the county during the course of performing their duties. A notary public cannot require that a customer purchase any other service from them in order to receive notary services.
There are some other circumstances where a notary public may charge a different fee than $10. For example, if a customer requests expedited services or if the document requires an unusual amount of time or effort to complete, the notary public may charge an additional fee of up to $25.
If you have any questions about what fees may apply in your situation, you should ask the notary public before they begin performing their services.
In order to become a notary in the state of Florida, you must first purchase a notary stamp and other necessary supplies. Notary stamps must be purchased from an authorized provider, such as a bank or the Florida Department of State. The cost of a notary stamp varies, but is typically around $40. Other necessary supplies include a journal for recording notarizations, as well as a surety bond.
Renewing your notary commission
In order to renew your notary commission in Florida, you must submit a completed Notary Commission Renewal Application and supporting documentation to the Department of State. The application must be received by the Department no later than 30 days prior to the expiration date of your current commission. The fee for renewing a notary commission is $42.00.
All notaries public in Florida are required to maintain a $7,500 surety bond throughout their four-year term. A surety bond is a type of insurance that protects the public from losses suffered as a result of fraudulent or dishonest acts committed by a notary.
What to do if you move
If you move to a new address, you must notify the Department of State within 30 days. You can do this by logging into your Notary Public Profile at www.dos.myflorida.com/notary or by mailing the department a completed Change of Address Form. The form is available on the website or you can request one by calling (850) 245-6945.
What to do if you change your name
If you have changed your name since you were appointed as a notary public, you must notify the Department of State of your new name. You may do this by logging into your Notary Profile on NotaryEstate.com and updating your information, or by sending a notarized copy of an official document that shows both your old and new name (such as a marriage certificate or name change court order) to:
Department of State
Division of Corporations
P.O. Box 6327
Tallahassee, FL 32314